Press Releases
September 26, 2022

BMA Honors Bipartisan Members of Congress with 2022 “Medicare Advantage Champion” Awards

41 lawmakers earn national recognition for their support of seniors’ Medicare Advantage coverage

Washington, D.C.  – Better Medicare Alliance, the nation’s leading research and advocacy organization supporting Medicare Advantage, unveiled its roster of 2022 Medicare Advantage Champion award recipients.

The award, given this year to 9 members of the U.S. Senate and 32 members of the U.S. House, is Better Medicare Alliance’s highest honor and recognizes lawmakers who have demonstrated exceptional commitment to supporting seniors’ Medicare Advantage coverage.

“Seniors know that the lower costs, added benefits, and better outcomes found in Medicare Advantage don’t happen by accident. Medicare Advantage depends on continued support and stability from Washington to deliver the quality, affordable coverage that more than 29 million Americans choose today,” said Mary Beth Donahue, President and CEO of the Better Medicare Alliance. “These bipartisan lawmakers are tenacious in standing up for Medicare Advantage beneficiaries in their communities and across the country. It is our privilege to honor their commitment to seniors with our ‘Medicare Advantage Champion’ award.”

Better Medicare Alliance’s 2022 Medicare Advantage Champion awards comes as lawmakers recently set a new record for bipartisan support of Medicare Advantage. A combined 409 members of the U.S. House and Senate sent letters to the Biden administration supporting seniors’ Medicare Advantage coverage earlier this year.

2022 Medicare Advantage Champion award recipients include:

2022 Medicare Advantage Champions: U.S. Senate:
Sen. Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV)
Sen. Mike Crapo (R-ID)
Sen. Steve Daines (R-MT)
Sen. Angus King (I-ME)
Sen. Joe Manchin (D-WV)
Sen. Roger Marshall, M.D. (R-KS)
Sen. Tim Scott (R-SC)
Sen. Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ)
Sen. Tina Smith (D-MN)

2022 Medicare Advantage Champions: U.S. House of Representatives
Rep. Joyce Beatty (D-OH)
Rep. Ami Bera, M.D. (D-CA)
Rep. Gus Bilirakis (R-FL)
Rep. Earl Blumenauer (D-OR)
Rep. Vern Buchanan (R-FL)
Rep. Larry Bucshon, M.D. (R-IN)
Rep. Michael Burgess, M.D. (R-TX)
Rep. Buddy Carter (R-GA)
Rep. Tony Cárdenas (D-CA)
Rep. Suzan DelBene (D-WA)
Rep. Val Demings (D-FL)
Rep. Nanette Díaz Barragán (D-CA)
Rep. Mike Doyle (D-PA)
Rep. Drew Ferguson (R-GA)
Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA)
Rep. Mike Gallagher (R-WI)
Rep. Morgan Griffith (R-VA)
Rep. Brett Guthrie (R-KY)
Rep. Chrissy Houlahan (D-PA)
Rep. Steven Horsford (D-NV)
Rep. John Joyce, M.D. (R-PA)
Rep. Mike Kelly (R-PA)
Rep. Derek Kilmer (D-WA)
Rep. Ron Kind (D-WI)
Rep. Suzie Lee (D-NV)
Rep. Tom O’Halleran (D-AZ)
Rep. Chris Pappas (D-NH)
Rep. Dave Schweikert (R-AZ)
Rep. Terri Sewell (D-AL)
Rep. Jason Smith (R-MO)
Rep. Darren Soto (D-FL)
Rep. Mark Veasey (D-TX)


Sign Up for Policy Alerts

Sign up to receive exclusive updates on Medicare Advantage policy.