Press Releases
September 14, 2020

Better Medicare Alliance To Assemble Top Health Care Leaders for 2020 Medicare Advantage Summit

Congresswoman Donna Shalala (D-FL), Congressman Derek Kilmer (D-WA), AAF President Doug Holtz-Eakin, Avalere Health Founder Dan Mendelson, Bipartisan Policy Center SVP Bill Hoagland, and others to speak at premier annual event for Medicare Advantage stakeholders and advocates 

Washington, D.C
. – Better Medicare Alliance (BMA), the leading research and advocacy organization supporting Medicare Advantage, announced the first round of speakers for its annual Medicare Advantage Summit held virtually this year October 14-16. 2020.

Confirmed speakers include Congresswoman Donna Shalala (D-FL), Congressman Derek Kilmer (D-WA), American Action Forum President Doug Holtz-Eakin, Avalere Health Founder Dan Mendelson, Bipartisan Policy Center SVP Bill Hoagland, National Hispanic Medical Association Chairwoman Nereida Correa, MD, MPH, AMGA President and CEO Jerry Penso, MD, MBA, Landmark Health CEO Nick Loporcaro,  National Minority Quality Forum President and CEO Gary Puckrein, PhD, Obama White House health policy veteran Chris Jennings,  and other prominent leaders involved in care transformation, with additional names to be announced in the coming weeks.

“Now in its fourth year, Better Medicare Alliance’s annual Medicare Advantage Summit has cemented its place as the premier event for health care innovators and thought leaders,” said Allyson Y. Schwartz, President and CEO of the Better Medicare Alliance. “From lessons learned in health plans, providers, and community partners’ response to COVID-19 to trends in value-based care and the popularity of Medicare Advantage among its increasingly diverse beneficiaries, there is a strong story to tell and much to anticipate in Medicare Advantage. This year’s all-virtual event will allow us new ways to connect speakers and audience members from around the country as we hear from leaders on the frontlines of patient care and delivery innovation in Medicare Advantage and cast a vision for the future of health care.”

The three-day, open-press event beginning just one month from today will feature a selection of high-profile keynote speakers, moderated panel discussions, and “Spotlights on Innovation” which profile the work of breakthrough health care leaders.

Interested media attendees can view a tentative Summit agenda HERE and can RSVP to Better Medicare Alliance’s Jonathan Frank at

Confirmed speakers include (in alphabetical order by last name):
Richard Ashworth, President & CEO, Tivity Health
Congressman Gus Bilirakis (R-FL)
Jon Blum, MMP, Managing Principal, Health Management Associates
Congressman Michael Burgess,M.D. (R-TX)
Christopher Ciano, President, Aetna Medicare
Dr. Gordon Chen, Chief Medical Officer, ChenMed
Caraline Coats, Vice President, Bold Goal & Population Health, Humana
Nereida Correa, M.D., MPH, Chairwoman, National Hispanic Medical Association
Daniel Dawes, Director, Satcher Health Leadership Institute at Morehouse University
Susan Dentzer, Senior Policy Fellow, Robert J. Margolis Center for Health Policy at Duke University
Archelle Georgiou, M.D., Chief Health Officer, Starkey Hearing
Garth Graham, M.D., MPH, President, Aetna Foundation, Vice President of Community Health, Aetna
Mary R. Grealy, President, Healthcare Leadership Council
William Hoagland, Senior Vice President, Bipartisan Policy Center
Doug Holtz-Eakin, President, American Action Forum
Chris Jennings, Founder & President, Jennings Policy Strategies Inc.
Ann Mond Johnson, CEO, American Telemedicine Association
Congressman Derek Kilmer (D-WA)
Nick Loporcaro, CEO, Landmark Health
John Lovelace, President, UPMC for You
Sandy Markwood, CEO, National Association of Area Agencies on Aging
Dan Mendelson, Founder, Avalere Health
Anand Parekh, MD, Chief Medical Officer, Bipartisan Policy Center
Jerry Penso, M.D., President & CEO, AMGA
Gary Puckrein, PhD, President & CEO, National Minority Quality Forum
Allison Rizer, MHS, MBA, Principal, ATI Advisory
Lance Robertson, Assistant Secretary Aging and ACL Administrator
Valinda Rutledge, Senior Vice President of Federal Affairs, America’s Physician Groups
Sachin Jain, CEO, SCAN Health Plan
Brandon Sawalich, President & CEO, Starkey Hearing
Former Congresswoman Allyson Y. Schwartz, President and CEO, Better Medicare Alliance
Tom Scully, Principal, Lincoln Policy Group
Congresswoman Donna Shalala (D-FL)
Will Shrank, M.D., Chief Medical Officer, Humana
Brad Smith, Director, CMMI, Deputy Administrator, CMS
Michael Sturmer, Senior Vice President, Health Services Segment, Livongo
Lucy Theilheimer, Chief Strategy and Impact Officer, Meals on Wheels America
Dr. Ian Tong, Chief Medical Officer, Doctor on Demand


Sign Up for Policy Alerts

Sign up to receive exclusive updates on Medicare Advantage policy.